

## **Executive Committee Meeting**

9:00 a.m. Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Southwest Education Support Center 16644 S. Elm Caruthers, CA 93609

## **Meeting Minutes**

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 9:02 a.m. by President Larry Teixeira.

**Attendance** 

Selma Unified School District

Larry Teixeira

Kingsburg Jt. Union School District (Elem)

Carol Bray

Southwest Transportation Agency

**Tony Mendes** Sandra Robles

Fowler Unified School District

Eric Cederquist

Pacific Union Elementary School District

Annette Machado

Los Banos Unified School District

Dean Bubar

Kings River-Hardwick

Trish Singh

Kerman Unified School District

Kraig Magnussen

Guests:

Dr. Henry Brock – Brock's Loss Control Bill Tucker - Tucker-Alexander Ins.

Donna Murry - Tucker-Alexander Ins.

Approval of **Agenda** 

The motion to approve the agenda was made by member Bray and seconded by member

Mendes.

Ayes: Members Machado, Singh, Bray, Teixeira, Cederquist, Bubar, Magnussen, and Mendes.

Nays: None. Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

**Public Hearing** Session

President Teixeira asked if anyone wished to address the Committee. There was no response.

Consent Agenda The motion to approve the consent agenda, which included the minutes of the April 21, 2016 Executive Committee & the May 03, 2016 Special Board meetings as emailed, was made by

member Bubar and seconded by member Machado.

Ayes: Members Machado, Singh, Bray, Teixeira, Cederquist, Bubar, Magnussen, and Mendes.

Nays: None. Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

Manager's Report

The JPA manager; Bill Tucker Jr. reported on the districts that will be departing from the O.S.S. effective 7/1/16; Kings Canyon Unified School District, Sanger Unified School District, and Golden

Plains Unified School District.

**Action Items** 

Loss Fund Rates

The JPA manager presented to the Executive Committee the final Loss Fund rates at the \$50,000 S.I.R. level comparing the 2016/17 year with that from 2015/16 and reflecting the departure of the three (3) districts, (Attachment A). The motion to recommend approval of the Loss Fund rates to

Ayes: Members Machado, Singh, Bray, Teixeira, Cederquist, Bubar, Magnussen, and Mendes.

the Board was made by member Machado and seconded by member Cederquist.

Nays: None. Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

## Organization of Self Insured Schools Executive Committee Meeting May 24, 2016 Page 2

## **Action Items Cont.**

NCR Rates

The NorCal ReLiEF (NCR) liability and property rates were presented to the Executive Committee for their recommendation for approval to the Board, (Attachment B). The motion to recommend approval to the Board of the NCR rates as presented was made by member Bubar and seconded by member Bray.

Ayes: Members Machado, Singh, Bray, Teixeira, Cederquist, Bubar, Magnussen, and Mendes. Nays: None. Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

Replacement of Named Members With the departure of Kings Canyon Unified School District and Sanger Unified School District, it was necessary to replace their positions as named members on the Executive Committee (Attachment C). The motion was made by member Mendes and seconded by member Singh to move two at-large members, Fowler Unified School District and Kingsburg Jt Union School District (Elem) to the position of named members on the Executive Committee.

Ayes: Members Machado, Singh, Bray, Teixeira, Cederquist, Bubar, Magnussen, and Mendes. Nays: None. Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

Election of At-Large Members The motion was made by member Machado and seconded by member Cederquist to recommend to the Board the retention of the remaining at-large districts on the Executive Committee, and replacing the two open positions with Firebaugh-Las Deltas Jt Unified School District and Kingsburg Jt Union High School District, (Attachment D).

Ayes: Members Machado, Singh, Bray, Teixeira, Cederquist, Bubar, Magnussen, and Mendes. Nays: None. Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

**Bylaw Amendment** 

The motion to recommend to the Board the revised JPA Bylaws to reflect the new permanent named members, Fowler Unified School District and Kingsburg Jt Union School District (Elem) to the Executive Committee was made by member Cederquist and seconded by member Bray.

Ayes: Members Machado, Singh, Bray, Teixeira, Cederquist, Bubar, Magnussen, and Mendes. Nays: None. Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

Amendment to Joint Powers Agreement The motion was made by member Cederquist and seconded by member Machado to recommend to the Board the revised Joint Powers Agreement to reflect the new permanent named members, Fowler Unified School District and Kingsburg Jt Union School District (Elem) to the Executive Committee.

Ayes: Members Machado, Singh, Bray, Teixeira, Cederquist, Bubar, Magnussen, and Mendes. Nays: None. Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

Agrmnt for Safety Inspections The motion was made by member Machado and seconded by member Bubar to approve the Loss Control/Risk Management Agreement for safety inspections by Poms & Associates as presented by the O.S.S. risk manager, Dr. Henry Brock, (Attachment E).

Ayes: Members Machado, Singh, Bray, Teixeira, Cederquist, Bubar, Magnussen, and Mendes. Nays: None. Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

Agrmnt for Inspection of Labs & Wrkshps The motion was made by member Cederquist and seconded by member Bubar to approve the Academic Labs and Workshop Loss Control Agreement for the inspection of labs & workshops by Poms & Associates as presented by the O.S.S. risk manager, (Attachment F).

Ayes: Members Machado, Singh, Bray, Teixeira, Cederquist, Bubar, Magnussen, and Mendes. Nays: None. Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

Rent–A- Risk Manager The motion to accept the Poms & Associates Risk Services Agreement (Rent-a-Risk-Manger) as presented by the O.S.S. risk manager was made by member Mendes and seconded by member Bray, (Attachment G).

Ayes: Members Machado, Singh, Bray, Teixeira, Cederquist, Bubar, Magnussen, and Mendes. Nays: None. Abstentions: None. Motion carried.

Organization of Self Insured Schools Executive Committee Meeting May 24, 2016 Page 3

**Board Member** 

President Teixeira asked if any member had items to report. There was no response.

Report

Closed Session There were no items for closed session.

Next Meeting/ Adjournment The next scheduled meeting for the Executive Committee is at 11:00 a.m. on Thursday,

Approved by,

July 21, 2016, at Favorito's in Fowler.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:48 a.m.

Prepared by,

Donna Murry Trish Singh/dm

Donna Murry Trish Singh TS/dm O.S.S. Secretary